2010 YZ450F GYTR flywheel . . . why so light?

9 replies to this topic
  • rdefonce

Posted January 05, 2011 - 10:08 AM

I'm looking at GYTR flywheel for '10 450F's and I notice they are quite a bit LIGHTER than previous years; 4oz vs 9oz . . . can I assume they will have same effect on motor as the heavier ones for previous year bikes??

• SEOINAGE

Posted January 05, 2011 - 10:16 AM

Supposedly it isn't just the weight of the flywheel. I would assume that it would have the same effect like you are thinking. But I'm no expert on flywheels.

• grayracer513

Posted January 05, 2011 - 11:15 AM

Because the 2010 flywheel is larger in diameter, less weight has a greater effect. In the '06-'09, the stock inertia mass is 3.8 kg-cm². Adding 9.21 oz. yeilds an inertia mass of 6.15 kg-cm². The addition of 4.44 oz. on the 2010 yields an inertia mass of 9.5 kg-cm², so it is even more effective.

• rdefonce

Posted January 05, 2011 - 12:03 PM

Very interesting, thanks Gray for the definitive answer!
(sold my '08, I am about to pull the trigger on a new leftover '10 but want FW weight for this bike)

• tech24

Posted January 05, 2011 - 12:45 PM

Just an FYI, they were backordered when I palced an order mid december. I got mine from motosport and it says call for availability still. Originaly I was supposed to get mine between Jan to Feb but it came christmas eve. I also found it significantly cheaper from another online distributor but can't remember which one at the moment. They were also backorder from them as well. They also come with a new gasket which I didn't see in the writing anywhere so no need to order one.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • rdefonce

Posted January 06, 2011 - 07:30 AM