2004 yz450f motor problems

7 replies to this topic
  • YZ450F4

Posted December 27, 2010 - 03:49 PM

Im new to Thumpertalk and i recently bought a 2004 YZ450F. It ran great for about two weeks then i was out riding it one day and it acted like it ran out of gas. I checked gas and it was fine. i got it back to the house and tryed to start it. It hardly had any compression and you could take your hand and kick it over. Tore it apart and the piston was cracked nearly in half. Took it to the machine shop and they said all the valves were messed up. I got a new piston, valves, and gaskets and took the valves to be put in and check the clearence on the new piston. The clearence varies a lot going down the jug so it needs bored. What could be the possible cause of this?? There isnt any play in the crank up or down. Has anyone ever had this problem before? :excuseme:

• grayracer513

Posted December 27, 2010 - 04:31 PM

Has anyone ever had this problem before?

Nope, you're the first. :excuseme:

The cylinder can't be bored, exactly, because it's a plated aluminum bore. You have two practical choices:

• Replace the cylinder with a new one.
  • Refinish your old one.
  • Buy a big bore kit.
In the second process, the old plating is honed out, new plating applied, and that layer is then diamond honed to the original size.

• YZ450F4

Posted December 27, 2010 - 04:59 PM

like i said i bought the bike used and come to find out it has a 97mm(+2mm) piston over stock so it has been messed with before. Are all the yz450f cylinders tighter at the top than at the bottom?

• grayracer513

Posted December 27, 2010 - 09:03 PM

Not when they're new, no. They're supposed to be straight, top to bottom. Max dimensional variation from a perfect cylinder is .002"

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • YZ450F4

Posted December 28, 2010 - 06:39 AM