my first day with a 98' Yamaha WR400F

15 replies to this topic
  • uppinsmoke

Posted December 18, 2010 - 01:31 AM

long story short, i acquired a 98' wr400f, i let my friend try to kickstart it and he didnt know how so he broke the kickstart lever, now there is a nice big crack on the rightside of the crankcase. i havent took it to a mechanic yet but it definitely needs to be looked at, im still learning each part=/

Today I registered to this forum and I finally found a 98' Yamaha WR400F bored .30 over for riding, so that's the good part! I was taught how to properly start a WR400F by the previous owner but I didnt take the time to really practice "his way" right after I test drove it. Instead I waited a few hours later and my friend suggested starting it "his way," which was the wrong way(i dont have much experience on bikes). Unfortunately my friend's technique was completely wrong as he repeatedly kicked over and over(WAy TO MANY TIMES), giving the kick lever a few inches of space between his foot, unable to start it. Eventually the return spring became weak it wouldnt return, my freind kicked it one last time and the inner crank case cover cracked but only where the lever is connected and bit further. Why did this happen exactly? He wasn't using the decompression lever, like I was told to, which my friend truely did not know how to use he thought by kicking it as hard as he could that he would start it(he is 6' 5" and used to own a Yz125). Now most likely the kickstarting assembly needs to be replaced and possibly more. There is a crack on the right side of the casing surrouning kick starter lever and most likely so will the kick starter shaft, again im not very familiar with the parts. Today i didnt take the time to realize that i have friends who give horrible "tips" and over all it was a crappy day because now i have to figure out exactly what is damaged and how much the part and labor will cost!