YZ426F to trail bike

18 replies to this topic
  • Joenewb

Posted December 12, 2010 - 12:24 PM

I am a newb to riding bikes pretty much and just switched from a 97 KTM 360 to a 2000 YZ426f. What do I need to do to the yz to get it ready for trail riding? I will be riding at Chadwick mostly in Missouri. Occationally on a motocross track.

• bluethumper98

Posted December 13, 2010 - 08:43 AM

I have a 98 yz400 that I keep around for ever because it has made a great trail bike and it is almost identical to the 426. Mine has 14/50 gearing, fmf powerbomb and powercore 4, moose skidplate, bark busters, tm designworks guide and slider, a good chain and sprockets, works connection and msr radiator guards. The only real limtiation is the suspension has not been revalved so it gets a little rough on roots and rocks. The fmf exhaust really awakened this bike and it will rip to the rev limiter at will. It is a mx gearbox so top speed is a little low in 5th compared to a wide ratio bike.These mods really made it a good off road bike and it is tough too.

• myoung

Posted December 13, 2010 - 08:57 AM

There's a lot of info in the Yamaha section of the website and you would get more responses posting there.

My 426 is a 2000 as well and it's a very solid, reliable bike. I haven't done any tight woods trails, mostly desert and some MX. I've found it's very versatile in either, but a WR gear box would be nice out in the desert. The nice thing is you can do that swap easily with the parts from a WR426. You can even put the WR stator and flywheel on for a lighting coil if you're looking for that. I haven't changed the flywheel on mine, but I know a lot of trail riders like a heavier flywheel on these bikes. I highly recommend changing the exhaust cam to an auto decompression one if it hasn't already been done.

• DrThumper

Posted December 13, 2010 - 10:45 AM

I race a 2000 426F in woods and ride almost entirely singletrack, mountains and Moab/desert.