New to dirt bikes and just bought a 2006 kx450f

14 replies to this topic
  • rrich49132

Posted November 07, 2010 - 12:00 PM

I am new to dirt bike riding and just bought a used 2006 kx450f and the only riding I have done so far is around the block and when I bought it. I have been riding sport bikes for about 10 years and have been doing track days for the last two years. Have had 600,750, and 1000cc bikes and currently have a 2009 zx6r by the way.

I love the power of this kx it reminds me of my 2003 r1 liter bike as it really pulls that hard from idle. Can't wait to get it out off road. My original plan was to wait till spring but don't think I can wait that long. I live in the Northern, VA area so not too many places close by to ride as I will have to trailer the bike about 1.5 hours away to get it out.

Anyways just came across this forum and will be in here from time-to-time looking for advice and such.

• numroe

Posted November 07, 2010 - 04:36 PM

Hi and welcome. I've got the same bike, and all my riding places are 1+ hrs drive. But it's worth it! Yeah the engine has a beautiful spread of responsive power. Ample for on the dirt.

What's your bike's condition like, and prior history?

Post some bike pics here if you can. In case it's not obvious, you upload your pic somewhere else like photobucket or Picasaweb, then put links here.

There are a few very significant mods to improve the 06 bike. 1 = suspension. 1 = 22mm triples. 3 = fix the rear linkage ratio. Those three things make it a totally different bike. Night vs day difference. Goes without saying you need the right tires for your dirt, and lots of ride time to dial in the settings. The 08 engine mount mod helps cornering/steering too.

• rrich49132

Posted November 07, 2010 - 04:44 PM

Great condition hardly used at all:

ftp://ftp.americanstaffing.net/ray/kawi/kawi.JPG
ftp://ftp.americanstaffing.net/ray/kawi/kawi2.JPG
ftp://ftp.americanstaffing.net/ray/kawi/kawi3.JPG

• numroe