How to jump a thumper!

9 replies to this topic
  • rohar

Posted July 08, 2003 - 05:46 AM

TT'rs:

I have been riding for many years but the WR450 is my first four stroke. I must say that I love this bike - especially the motor. No more fanning the clutch like a mad man to control wheel spin.

However, there is one thing I have yet to master. I can't jump this beast! As an old 2-smoke rider, I used to always get on the throttle hard to compress the rear suspension. Then just as I would come of the jump, I'd let off the throttle so I could get that extra little hop as the rear suspension uncoiled.

Well, no surprise, but this is a recipe for disaster on a thumper from what I can tell. Whenever I try this, the front end nose dives - from the strong braking effect of the engine I assume. :)

So, what's the preferred technique to over come this?

Thanks. :D

• pedman

Posted July 08, 2003 - 05:53 AM

It could be that you are rolling off of the throttle too fast from my first guess.

And who said locomotives could not fly? :)

• ddialogue

Posted July 08, 2003 - 06:23 AM

Consistant throttle on takeoff is what works for me. I'm no Freestyle jumper, but 60-70 footers are a piece of cake on the WR.

70-footer

• Pit_Man

Posted July 08, 2003 - 03:15 PM

Well ,I ride a WR 250F but I think the jumping technique is pretty close for our bikes. Definitely do not let off the throttle like a 2-stroke(I mean-smoke).Keep a steady throttle up the face of the jump, and how much throttle to apply depends on how far you want to go, especially on your 450. I have to hit some jumps pretty hard in 3rd gear to clear them. Don't have the nards for a 4th gear try.
And I like to say 'Don't blip or you'll flip'.
On a 2-smoke you can 'blip' the throttle right at the peak of the takeoff ,and this helps keep the front end up.You might be able to do it on a 4-stroke in some situations but I would'nt rely on it.