racing for first time

14 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted February 26, 2001 - 11:49 AM

O.k here's the deal. I am 34 and am a beginner to riding a four stroke. I recently purchased a 01' 426 and love it. I also have a desire to race but am unsure of level of ability before entering an over the hill beginner class. I can jump small doubles and have a decent start, but 60'doubles are out of the question. I live in oregon and have two nationals type tracks and one supercross track availible.
Please advise

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted February 26, 2001 - 01:26 PM

Pin it and hope for the best. Oh yeah - make sure you have really good health insurance first...

Now for reality. Do whatever you can to build up forearm strength/stamina. I started riding over 40 MX this past month and my arms are the first things to go each race. I recommend getting your suspension set up by someone who knows how to do it, it will help keep the fatigue down a lot. I'm not talking about a major rework, just get the clickers, sag, and fork oil specs dialed in. It will help and it won't cost a ton of money.

The other biggies - breathe, relax, and stretch before riding/racing.

My two cents worth...

Paul in AZ

• Clod_Thrower

Posted February 26, 2001 - 06:54 PM

Fireguy , I live in oregon too! I was just starting to race MX 2&1/2 years ago. What tracks are close to you? Maby we can meet at The Albany track on the 11th. You need to start out slow but I could help. It was a little much at first but now I can do 60+ size jumps.

• MXOldtimer

Posted February 26, 2001 - 08:43 PM