New WR400 owner! 1999 WR400... somehow plated!!!

7 replies to this topic
  • Shred Jesse

Posted October 05, 2010 - 09:54 PM

Hey everyone!

Name's Jesse, I'm fairly new to dirtbiking in General. I bought a turd of a 1982 XR250 from a friend, ghetto rigged a bunch of parts onto it, welded shit onto it, and made it somewhat legitimate. I rode it for a few months, enjoyed myself, but quickly grew past the crappy suspension, and the low power. It got to the point where I was riding as fast as the bike really could go, and occasionally beyond it's capabilities as I'd get thrown off by terrain the suspension couldn't take. I even had the suspension rebuilt, and it just wasn't going to work like it aught to. Oh yeah, and don't forget it's 300lb+ weight, and it's horrible rear drum brake!

So yeah, I came into some money as some doucherino backed into my sport bike. I got a nice new job at the same time too, so I decided to treat myself!

1999 YAMAHA WR400... that is somehow plated despite being questionably street legal, and still kick start!

Posted Image

It's in pretty good shape. Now that all the work is done it starts pretty easy, and once it's warmed up it starts first kick with NO problem! BOOYA! Even when cold it starts first or second kick! The beast hasn't had a ton of hours despite being dual sported, and it feels really nice and plush!

Posted Image

Posted Image

Anyways, despite it being plated, and possibly street legal, I won't be dual sporting it. It'll eat through legitimate dirt tires, and I've never heard a seasoned rider do anything other than scoff at dual sport anything for hard trail use. Sorry guys! It's for the best anyways, as you really gotta run this bike out to redline to do safe highway speeds, and it's just not meant to handle at those speeds!