Tire Grooving Question

11 replies to this topic
  • chuckie108

Posted June 27, 2003 - 07:56 AM

I just got a set of Maxxis Goldspeed slicks. I want to groove them for the dirt but don't know how deep to set the cutter. I've never grooved slicks before, only DT tires. Any ideas? BTW, who's gonna be at El Cajon tomarrow? I still would like to meet some of you all. All help is appreciated. :)

• ejw

Posted June 27, 2003 - 08:07 AM

I'll be there tomorrow (427), I think I'm just going to bring the truck and a canopy so I can setup "inside" instead of the outside treatment you get when you bring a trailer. Definitely stop by and say hi.

I'll be doing some grooving experiments tonight on DOTs. We'll see how it turns out tomorrow :) Worse-case scenario, I buy tires. :D

As far as how deep to set the groover, I'm not really sure. I don't set it too deep, whatever looks good I guess (definitely less than 1/2 way). I'm pretty new to grooving, but I don't think you can really go too wrong. Standard "blade" (?) is #4, right? I've just used that one.

Hopefully someone with more info can help you out a bit more.

Eric

• John_Leach_-_Super_TT_N.W._#5

Posted June 27, 2003 - 08:13 AM

Groove the rear all the way to the cords, just till you can see them. Since rear slicks only last about a days worth of hard riding it's fairly common practice.
This will give you better "hook up" in the dirt. Every tire manufacture has different tread depth, so you'll need to experiment with what ever you have. The Avon Supermoto slicks have 6mm on the rears and 4mm on the fronts for your reference.

• MotoGreg

Posted June 27, 2003 - 05:35 PM

I'll be there too.

Gee, it'll be like Team Thumper Talk. :)

• Linco

Posted June 28, 2003 - 12:50 AM

You need the TT stickers to go really fast.

:)

• the roc

Posted June 28, 2003 - 10:00 PM

DONT go all the way to the cords....