Hi, I'm new, can you help?

8 replies to this topic
  • milton450

Posted June 27, 2003 - 05:56 AM

Hi, I'm new to WR450s and just wanted to know if someone could give me a little background on them.
1) Could you give me the years of production for each? (400, 426,450)

2) What are the main differences between WR motors and YZ motors?

3) Did YZ (4 stroke) motors come before WR motors, or did they both hit the market the same years?

Thanks guys, I'll be here a lot! :)

• Beef_Romchee

Posted June 27, 2003 - 06:23 AM

I'll try...

1) Could you give me the years of production for each? (400, 426,450)

400's 1998-2000
426's 2001-2002
450's 2003-

2) What are the main differences between WR motors and YZ motors?

The main differences are NOT in the motors. Those are BASICALLY the same. The differences come in the "extras".
YZ's are made for the tracks, so they don't have the need for things that the off-road WR needs: Lighting (stator), tail light, kick stand, over-flow bottle, and gearing change. The WR stands for Wide Ratio. Couple of gears in the tranny are different.

Inside of the engine there is a timing difference. Old-school bikes can be switched around with no liablilities. Take off the valve cover, loosen the cam chain, and turn that exhaust cam back a tooth, and you can get YZ timing out of your WR. Some are even getting the new '03 cams (they have auto decomp built in!) and really making some serious changes!

3) Did YZ (4 stroke) motors come before WR motors, or did they both hit the market the same years?

1998 was the year that Yamaha brought the 4-stroke motor to the tracks, and they brought it competetively! Doug Henry on that white 4-stroke was something that looked odd then, but is rapidly becomming the standard.

See you around!

B

• ETP

Posted June 27, 2003 - 11:26 AM

Welcome to thumpertalk. You will learn alot from these guys, as I have.

Ditto what Beef said.