My Biggest Fear ....

13 replies to this topic
  • HUSKYHO

Posted September 09, 2010 - 08:55 AM

is being deep into the desert or woods and have the bike punk out and not being able to get it going again.

Flats, or something obviously malfunctioning or broken I can [hopefully] deal with..Getting hurt is a concern of course as well, altho I try to ride within my reach and try to keep off the throttle as I build skills...not easy with this much torque available!!!!

It's the wierd glitch where the bike dies or won't start that creeps me out.... a loose wire , a clogged tube, an electronic failure ...that I couldn't diagnose on the trail....

I consider myself an average + backyard wrench

Riding a new 2009 WR450F Yamaha , that from what I hear is very reliable. I am new to dirt riding, and for better or worse I will do a lot of solo rides, likely in places that won't see alot of traffic, esp as I ride weekdays more often than weekends, with a big chunk of time spent in Utah and Colorado mountains ev year, altho this issue can happen close to home of course [N Calif]

The QUESTION IS
: what do you guys do beyond the obvious [good tool kit, regular maintenance, pre flighting your bike, yourself, etc] to keep your bike reliable ?

ARE THERE IMPORTANT SPARES TO CARRY OR MECHANICAL CHECKS I CAN PUT INTO EFFECT TO GIVE MYSELF/ THE BIKE A BETTER CHANCE OF SURVIVAL...???

The best answer I have for myself is easing into the more remote areas and build confidence in myself and the bike. Read alot online about others travails on the trail, maybe get a SatPhone, tag along with others as the op arises,.....

Be great to hear any and all advice from you guys about this concern and any offbeat problem you may have had on the trail!

ho

• redhurricane

Posted September 09, 2010 - 10:16 AM

I have a lot of miles on my 2006 WR, most of them WITH other friends. Greatest piece of mind (and fun) I know of. Bike will probably never really let you down.