09 yz450f set up tips

8 replies to this topic
  • hoffman910

Posted August 25, 2010 - 07:18 PM

Just switched over from an 08 crf450 n got my first ride on my new yamaha! I ordered a pipe when I bought the bike and I think that will help, but I really had to play around with the suspension to get it to settle into the corners. I went more rebound on the front and less on the rear and out a half turn from stock on the high speed compression and it made a huge difference. I'm at about 3 7/8 on the sag so I didn't wanna go any less, or my thought was to slide my forks down so they're flush in the top clamp, they're about 4mm down when I got it. Anybody have any stories of what they've done?? I like to tinker now and figure out what works best since I'm new to the whole setup... Thanks!!!

• Steel Panther

Posted August 25, 2010 - 07:43 PM

I think most people slide the forks up in the clamps and run around 100mm or close to 4" of sag. I agree the rear needed a little less rebound for me, other than that i havent really messed with it suspension wise because its working good for me.
Motor wise i went with a fmf 4.1+ megabomb, 4th clip on the needle, 165main jet, and fuel screw 2 1/2-3/4ish out works good for me at around 700ft.
Also, the stock chain is not spectacular.

• dvn

Posted August 26, 2010 - 04:11 AM

Strange that you guys have had to take out rebound on the shock. I have to run mine around 6 clicks out to slow it down. Are you riding MX only?

• hoffman910

Posted August 26, 2010 - 05:55 AM

Strange that you guys have had to take out rebound on the shock. I have to run mine around 6 clicks out to slow it down. Are you riding MX only?

That's what I meant, and I do ride Mx only. The back end just felt high and not planted and I couldn't settle into corners and lay it over right. I'm a 5 year Honda rider so I'm used to a whole different chassis and power delivery