How much training?

21 replies to this topic
  • YZR426

Posted February 08, 2001 - 04:36 AM

I know that some of you race on the weekends or when ever you can.
So I just wanted to no how much training do you guys do and what type of training?(ride,run,gym?)
I have only started to take it seriously enough to go for a run or ride my mountain bike most days.
Just how much do most guys do in 7 days on average and what level are you on an MXer?

• Scott_F

Posted February 08, 2001 - 08:38 AM

I'm an expert level MXer. I recommend riding once during the week if possible, or going to the gym twice a week. At the gym work on cardiovascular fitness and endurance, not bulking up through weight training. Mountain biking is excellent. Be careful not to overtrain. You should feel fresh and energetic when you go riding.

In addition, if you are heavy, the best thing you can do is to get down to your ideal racing weight. If you are 6' or less, there is no reason to be over 180. You should also try to clean up your diet and lifestyle. Huge gains can be made in this area, with no work other than mental changes.

• sleekfreak

Posted February 08, 2001 - 08:46 AM

Not and expert but I train on a stationary bike 3 times a week, lift 4 times a weeks and try to ride dirt or ride street as much as possiable durning the week and on weekends. I am not the fastest or the best cornerer but I can hold my own.

• MXOldtimer

Posted February 08, 2001 - 08:54 AM

try posting your question at
www.ronron.com
there is a fitness trainer there that has some really good info, along with traing routines. NOT THAT THUMPERTALK ISNT A GOOD SOURCE OF INFO,I love this place

Doug
sorry I had ronron site wrong its corrected now (www.ronronmx.com)

[This message has been edited by MXOldtimer (edited 02-08-2001).]

• TheBOS

Posted February 08, 2001 - 10:34 PM