new to me 98 yz 400 f - TPS help please...

4 replies to this topic
  • BlindLOKI

Posted August 08, 2010 - 09:08 PM

Hello all, first post here, been a lurker for awhile I apologize that my first one has to be a problem, but I'm looking for a little help if possible.

I graduated from MMI so I have a small amount of knowledge/mechanical aptitude, with that said, here is what I'm experiencing.

First recieved this bike and got it to start but it ran really rough, hot and popping. I assumed a good carb clean and I'd be off with an awesome bike/steal. I pop the seat off and the aircleaner is destroyed. Replace it and clean the carby out real good, hook everything back up and start the 4 stroke shuffle. After kicking myself stupid, adjusting the pilot (leak on yamaha?... adj. screw anyways...) trying choke, no choke, hot start, adjust idle knob... nothing. If I do get it to light up its still the same pop pop fizz fizz oh shit its hot! lol

So I go to work do my research.... Never had a bike with a manual hotstart before so I replace the worn out tubing on it, test the button it holds all the pressure I can put to it... Put a freshy plug in it, gapped correctly.... kick kick kick same old song and dance. I got it to run ONCE and it sounded GOOOOD. only problem was I had the choke AND hotstart on hahaha, im assuming a freak accident as it died shortly after and returned to pop pop fizz fizz when I did get it going.