jumping 426 vs 250 two stroke

5 replies to this topic
  • jimyz

Posted January 31, 2001 - 01:59 PM

I live in Ohio and winter is showing signs of easing. I am coming off a 00yz250 and have ridden the 426 3 times. I have noticed the 426 is more nuetral in body positioning compared to the two stroke. I haven't got a lot of saddle time,any comments appreciated-I'm 5'10 160lbs ride mostly mx,some indoor, some woods.

• YZThumpa

Posted January 31, 2001 - 06:10 PM

Jimyz, I just started riding MX in the past year and the 426 is my first bike so I don't have experience with 2 strokes, but you are right about the neutral body position. When I first started jumping the 426 I was wondering what effort I would have to make to handle the bike. The answer, I discovered, was no effort. The bike jumps very easily. You just hit the jump and the bike seems to launch perfectly every time. What I have learned about jumping the 4 stroke is to keep the throttle steady through the jump. If you blip the throttle coming off the jump you will get the front end up too high. If you cut off the throttle leaving the jump you will endo. Due to the engine braking when you let off the throttle, you get the same effect as hitting the rear brake in the air on a 2 stroke, which brings the front end down. Just keep the throttle steady and you will launch steadily without any body english necessary.

• jimyz

Posted February 01, 2001 - 08:59 AM

I understand to keep the throttle steady until leaving the jump. What about gear selection compared to the two stroke? Do you try to stretch the linear 4 stroke power or reach for another gear like the two stroke?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted February 01, 2001 - 11:02 AM

I spend most of my time in the desert doing 70-80mph (much safer than MX!!!!)(LOL)