Patch or New Tube?

33 replies to this topic
  • hondariderdan09

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:09 PM

Im pretty new to the tire game but I recently replaced the tires on my dirtbike on my own for the first time but I encountered some problems with the rear. The back tire was flat before I changed the tires so there is a brand new tube in there but i must have pinched it installing the new tire. So now the question is should i patch it or should i go with another new tube? Is a patch a temporary fix? Any input would be appreciated, thanks. :smirk:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • GSP2

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:16 PM

New tires = new tubes = piece of mind being 50 miles from the truck.

I would use a patch in a pinch but not as a long term fix. <$20 for an ultra heavy duty tube and your good to go.

Bet ya don't do it a second time. Treat it as a learning experience.

• ekulb14

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:20 PM

yep get a new tube, your are already taking the tube off might as well put a new one in. and :smirk:*TIP* when you put the new tube in inflate it so that its firm but creases over your finger, that way you wont pinch it

• hondariderdan09

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:23 PM

Yea that is what I was thinkin and yea i new i did something wrong around the rim lock :smirk: i was prayin there wasnt a hole tho but thanks for the info

• GSP2

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:24 PM

I WOULD patch the tube and keep it on hand for that time you will probably need a replacement tube in a pinch (pardon the pun). :smirk:

• MasterT2000

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:26 PM

A patch is for a flat on the trail to get you through the rest of the day. Replace the tube.

• Chokey

Posted 17 July 2010 - 07:07 PM

I have patched tubes many times. If applied correctly, the patched area is as good as the rest of the tube. I would patch it and not give it a second thought.

• condor74

Posted 17 July 2010 - 07:21 PM