cleaning the airfilter with soap

12 replies to this topic
  • yamahasocal450

Posted June 13, 2003 - 11:13 AM

i couldnt find the filter cleaner spray so i just used soap and now im not sure if it was such a good idea?? will it hur thte airfilter and allow dirt through but i did wash it all out?? :D :)

• Fryboy

Posted June 13, 2003 - 12:27 PM

Hi Yamahasocal450,

I am no expert, but I don't think using soap on your filter to clean them will be a bad thing. I am not sure you will get all the oil out of the filter but it definately won't hurt it. If all the oil isn't removed I would think that air flow would be your biggest concern.

I use No-Toil and always wash my filters in washing machine with detergent and a bit of the No-Toil cleanser.

What does cause dirt to get through your filter is lack of a good, tacky oil.

Soap is not a factor in this unless of course, you left a lot of it in the filter (didn't rinse out well) and that soapy, flaky crap is allowed to be sucked into your baby. Too much soap left in filter probably wouldn't allow the oil to fully tack to filter causing a back door for dirt so to speak.

Wash on my friend, :)
Fryboy

• adamwagar

Posted June 13, 2003 - 02:46 PM

I use soap all the time. I take some gasoline :), you should use mineral spirits :D, and clean the filter. Then I get a bucket, fill it with water and Simple Green, and wash it again. Blow it dry with some compressed air and oil it up.

Seems to work for me.

• live_to_ride

Posted June 13, 2003 - 03:24 PM

I never spend more than about 3 minutes cleaning my filter. One or two quick dunks in gasoline and it looks new. Then I blow it off with compressed air for about 2 minutes. :)

Chris

• Indy_WR450

Posted June 13, 2003 - 03:27 PM

Soap & Water after using the recommended cleaner. It does not harm the glue or foam material.

• ogrebelle

Posted June 16, 2003 - 06:20 AM