2000 yz426 wont idle and pops on deceleration

6 replies to this topic
  • crazydirthead

Posted July 08, 2010 - 09:48 PM

I know there are plenty of threads on this topic already but I have tried most of the things mention and I still can't seem to fix the issue. Heres the deal, I just bought the bike and it wouldn't idle when I bought it, but I could tell it ran perfect when at 3000+ RPMs. I cleaned out the pilot jet because it was completely clogged and now it will run at a lower RPM but still dies if I completely let off the throttle. Also, when I am decellerating it pops ALOT, I'm not sure how to fix this. I'm almost positive the jets are stock, I know that the needle is. Be gentle on me, I'm new to being my own mechanic. If someone could give me a list of things to check from top to bottom I would very much appreciate it.

P.S. The previous owner did the blue wire mod and it also has a power core IV on it, but I think thats all that is different from stock.

• grayracer513

Posted July 09, 2010 - 06:26 AM

Start by raising the idle speed. Then adjust the idle mixture.

http://www.thumperfa.../jetting.htm#PJ

Check the exhaust for loose clamps, etc. before blaming the popping entirely on the carb.

• iPilot

Posted July 09, 2010 - 09:35 AM

+1 on the idle speed adjuster _and_ idle mix adjuster.

there are aftermarket idle mix needles out there for around 20$ at cyclegear and many other stores that have a knob on them to eliminate the need for a small screwdriver so you can make adjustments by hand as you ride.

in most cases i dealt with, popping out of the tailpipe on engine braking was caused by incorrect idle mix (since that's the main thing regulating fuel while throttle is "closed") and usually excessively rich. slightly rich is ok, it will give you better throttle response and might rumble very slightly on prolonged engine braking. but those are just my experiences wit the issue :)