Stripped Oil Drain Plug

9 replies to this topic
  • ironhead23

Posted July 08, 2010 - 09:17 PM

My friend has a 2008 YZ-450, and tightened the oil drain plug a bit too much last oil change and the threads stripped and now the oil plug will not properly seat into the threads. It stays in the hole but would most likely vibrate out when the bike is being used. So far he used grip glue to hold the plug in temporarily, anyone have a suggestion for a fix on this?

We have considered using lock-tight on the bolt to keep it in between oil changes. Would using a tap on the threads to properly cut them again be a good idea?

Thanks in advance

• yfz_luv

Posted July 08, 2010 - 09:22 PM

you can try to just retap it w/ out drilling

but i would drill and retap or heli coil it (but u have to drill and retap to heli coil)... find a tap chart so u can match the drill w/ the tap and hand tap do NOT use a drill to tap.

• ironhead23

Posted July 08, 2010 - 09:44 PM

I'm no expert with tapping holes, what do you mean by drill w/ the tap? Is it not just the tap shaft with a handle that tightens on the square end of the tap? And also, what exactly is heli coil?

Thanks again

• ironhead23

Posted July 08, 2010 - 09:46 PM

If it doesn't work to just run a tap through the same size as the threads, will I have to cut a bigger diameter into the hole and get a new larger diameter bolt?

• stevens96yz250

Posted July 08, 2010 - 10:57 PM

i heard not to use a heli coil as they are more designed for blind holes. you should use a thread insert that has a a washer welded to it to prevent the heli coil from going in to the case and causing trouble.

like these kindof.

good luck

http://www.timesert..../drainplug.html

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • bryawn

Posted July 08, 2010 - 11:24 PM