"Pads" For valve adjustment.

11 replies to this topic
  • jw423

Posted July 02, 2010 - 11:30 PM

I'm new to the new dirt bike thing but how long and do other bikes have this change the pad to adjust the valves thing going on? Doese anyone know why the new system? It sure seemed a lot more easy to just loosen a nut and turn a screw. My 2006 quad has the old way of adjusting. Is this a Yamaha thing? Do you guys like the pads? Seems nuts to me but I guess there must be a reason....:)

• William1

Posted July 03, 2010 - 01:09 AM

99% of modern engines (IE, those in the last 20~30 years) use pad/shims or some variation. The screw/nut/ball time is more prone to wear and as they wear, adjustment becomes near impossible always loose due to the ball making a 'pocket').
Because the shim method is so wear free, adjustment is infrequent and when it does need adjusting, it is because the valves are beginning to recede and out of adjustment valves are a sign that a overhaul is imminent.

• grayracer513

Posted July 03, 2010 - 07:16 AM

When the cam sits directly on top of the valve lifter, which sits directly on top of the valve, how else would you do this?

• jw423

Posted July 03, 2010 - 09:02 AM

99% of modern engines (IE, those in the last 20~30 years) use pad/shims or some variation. The screw/nut/ball time is more prone to wear and as they wear, adjustment becomes near impossible always loose due to the ball making a 'pocket').
Because the shim method is so wear free, adjustment is infrequent and when it does need adjusting, it is because the valves are beginning to recede and out of adjustment valves are a sign that a overhaul is imminent.

Cool thanks for the input. My old bike is a 1990 XR250R and my 2006 Suzuki Vinson both have the old style of adjusters. I can see how the shim leaves less movable parts. So I guess this is the norm now. Do you know if the shims are make and model specific? Or is there an industry standard.. ya right huh.

Thanks again.

• jw423