2003 wr450f engine noinse.

6 replies to this topic
  • 802wrRider

Posted June 28, 2010 - 11:49 AM

now i have read alot about these engines making alot of noise especially when you have a skid plate attached. i dont have a skid plate, and the engine noise is only at lower rpms. when you get on the throttle the noise seems to go away. it also seems to have a little sputter at lower rpms also going away and smoothing right out when you give it a little gas. it runs beautiful at midrange and higher rpms. now i just bought this bike saturday knowing that it needed some work and i am very new to the dirt bike world so any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

thanks~

• willy_fitz

Posted June 28, 2010 - 12:35 PM

A loud knock from the bottom end is very bad. Mostly noticed at idle.
A ticking sound could indicate a loose valve clearance.
There tends to be a lot of noise from the clutch with these bikes. It is usually nothing to be worried about. Good luck with the bike.

• 802wrRider

Posted June 28, 2010 - 03:55 PM

thanks, i took it for anotjer ride tonight to see if i couls figure out what was going on. and the noise that i was hearing is more of a shutter at low speed/rpm's in second gear and up. other than that it rhode sweet

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • tribalbc

Posted June 28, 2010 - 04:00 PM

thanks, i took it for anotjer ride tonight to see if i couls figure out what was going on. and the noise that i was hearing is more of a shutter at low speed/rpm's in second gear and up. other than that it rhode sweet

Ift's while lugging it while riding it is most likely drive chain slap.

• 802wrRider

Posted June 29, 2010 - 10:07 AM

yah thats what i figured but i know the chain is not loose, i just tightened it with a buddy of mine that is much more knowledgable than i am. oh well as long as its not going to hurt anything than i dont really care to much.

• tribalbc