Blown fork seal repair cost

19 replies to this topic
  • YZrider2112

Posted June 25, 2010 - 10:24 AM

My 03 YZ125 has a blown fork seal, and being as I've never tried to fix one before I'm kind of thinking about just taking the fork in to the repair shop. I just called the shop up the street from me and they said that they would do one fork for $100 and two forks for $150. Is that a decent price? I really wasn't sure.

And while I'm at it, should I do both or am I okay to just do one? The one seal is totally blown and there was oil everywhere, but the other fork leg looks completely normal.

Thanks,
Randy

EDIT: And I looked up how to do it myself, and to be honest it looked to be a little bit over my mechanical ability. I just want to be sure that it's going to be done right and if I do it myself I'll be questioning it.

• locorider

Posted June 25, 2010 - 10:36 AM

The parts you need will run about $35-$40 for both forks, that includes oil. You need a seal driver or a pvc home made one.

Up to you how much you want to pay for labor but I would suggest you look at doing it yourself. It is a lot more intimidating than anything else. It will probably take you an hour for the first one and 15 minutes for the second one.

For a professional it should not be more than 15 minutes per shock if they are already removed from the bike. So $100 for 30 minutes worth of labor seems a little steep but I don't know the going rates.

• ajd187

Posted June 25, 2010 - 10:39 AM

I would say do it yourself, but if you don't want to, that is a good price. Definitely do both.

It is really not that bad. Admittedly buying the proper tools to do it, along with parts and oil, will cost you almost as much as sending it out to be done, but you know it was done the right way.

Look on Youtube for rockymountainatvmc. They have great videos on how to do this.