YZ426 motocross and enduro

11 replies to this topic
  • daverehm

Posted January 18, 2001 - 02:23 PM

I just started riding again. It has been 15 years. I bought a 2000 yz426 and would like to ride motocross as well as enduro.What can I do to get the most out of the bike for both? I already put a spark arrestor on it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• FOX426

Posted January 18, 2001 - 02:41 PM

Consider a flywheel weight,50-52 rear sprocket,usual guards, hand,disc,etc.

------------------
The world loves talent but, pays off on character.

• daverehm

Posted January 18, 2001 - 02:46 PM

This may sound real stupid, but what exactly is a flywheel weight and is it easy to put on? What does it do? Will it hurt motocross riding? Thanks.

[This message has been edited by daverehm (edited 01-18-2001).]

• Taffy

Posted January 18, 2001 - 03:06 PM

look, there's a lot of smelly stuff said about the flywheel weights.

YOU DON'T KNOW YOU'VE GOT ONE ON.

...until you hit a log, you try to ride up a rock. you try to ride just the throttle between two car wing mirrors on tickover.

you chugged over the bolder, you walloped the log & kept going & you didn't scrape the paint off your dad's car as it fell tit's up!

Taffy

• Boit

Posted January 18, 2001 - 10:40 PM

The flywheel is a hub-like wheel that's attached to one side of the crankshaft. Among other things, it provides inertia to the crankshaft. In simple terms, as we are talking about adding weights here, it helps to keep the engine spinning so it won't stall as easy. The blade on your gas powered lawnmower acts like a flywheel. If you remove the blade, the engine won't want to idle.

• daverehm

Posted January 19, 2001 - 01:49 AM