Lights seem to drain battery?

26 replies to this topic
  • Bandit9

Posted June 16, 2010 - 07:01 PM

I bought an 06 WR450F in November. It has one of those "Barley Legal" RYCO DS kits. No blinkers. Can't find RYCO on the net. Anyway, if I ride with the lights on, a brand new battery will last 30 miles before it dies and I'm kickstarting the rest of the day. Also, it has another black wire tapped into the negative at the terminal. Nothing on the positive terminal. What could this wire be? I'm a total electrical noob, so how do I go about getting this fixed? Think a Yamaha dealer can handle this? LOL!

• William1

Posted June 17, 2010 - 04:08 AM

You are expereincing part of the problem of some of these DS kits. Since they do not do a stator modification, the total power available to the battery is probably less than the total draw of the kit, thereby slowly draining the battery.
A dealer might be able to help you if they have someone who actually understands electrics and not just how to follow the manual.
If your headlight only is on when the engine is running, you may be able to sudstitute the tail light bulb for an LED version and get by.

• OUTERLIMITS

Posted June 17, 2010 - 06:19 AM

I would highly recommend the Baja Designs stator mod (about $30) or a plug and play high power stator like Trailtech or Electrosport. That way you will have all available power running to your battery.

• RickyStator

Posted June 17, 2010 - 08:17 AM

If your in the market for a stator we are offering all TT members a 15% discount. Our stator is a 100% DC system so it should correct the problem.
http://www.rickystat...products_id=391

• William1

Posted June 17, 2010 - 02:17 PM