6K feet Altitude jetting anyone done it?

5 replies to this topic
  • makncan

Posted June 13, 2010 - 10:23 AM

Hey guys,
First off I have an '03 WR450F uncorked exhaust that I bought a few months ago.

I've seen the formula thats posted to figure out jetting but I have to admit that I was totally intimidated to actually try and figure it out so I figure I'd ask around and see what others were running

I live in Chicago and I'm taking a trip to bear lake in Utah to do some riding where we should encounter altitude of approximately 6000 feet. I'm a relative newbie to dirtbike riding and just checked my main and it's a 175 which seems big but it was running decent.

Any info or help you can offer, I totally appreciate
Thanks
John

• Butta

Posted June 14, 2010 - 05:40 PM

Hey guys,
First off I have an '03 WR450F uncorked exhaust that I bought a few months ago.

I've seen the formula thats posted to figure out jetting but I have to admit that I was totally intimidated to actually try and figure it out so I figure I'd ask around and see what others were running

I live in Chicago and I'm taking a trip to bear lake in Utah to do some riding where we should encounter altitude of approximately 6000 feet. I'm a relative newbie to dirtbike riding and just checked my main and it's a 175 which seems big but it was running decent.

Any info or help you can offer, I totally appreciate
Thanks
John

Make sure you compare the temperatures you'll be encountering with what's "normal" for your home altitude, because that will make a difference as well. With comparable temps, if you're at sea-level, I'd expect a 2 jet size smaller would be ok. You probably won't go wrong with 1 step lower, either...I'm at 5k in Colorado and with my intake and exhaust opened up I run a 168 main and go up to 10k+ feet, although I think I could fine tune it a little more....

• makncan

Posted June 16, 2010 - 11:43 AM