wr450f....2003-2004...a swine to start

11 replies to this topic
  • MADMANX666

Posted June 13, 2010 - 08:28 AM

hi all......well im new to enduro bikes and green laning ect,,over here in the isle of man we have some great tracks to play on tahts why ive joined the elete and play on thumpers......

my wr is a swine to fire up from the kick start hot or cold....ive check,t valve timing..spot on,ive cleaned the carb and reset to manufatures workshop manual,new plug ect,ive ordered a new starter as thats burnt out but id still like to fire it up from the kickstart.is there any method to kicking these over ie how much throttle,how much hotstart lever,wheres the piston got to be..???

many thanks any help would be great

• minty0_10

Posted June 13, 2010 - 11:58 AM

hi i find if you give it a few twists of the throttle 5/6 mine fires up first kick if you get it half way through the stroke.
mind me asking where you got your starter from and what it cost you?
mines dead also

• Dee Perry

Posted June 13, 2010 - 04:35 PM

WOW, Not to be a killjoy but if I touch or even look at my throttle before i start it, IT WILL NOT START. Choke when cold----Hot start when hot. !st kick every time. Do not kick real hard, prefers a softer smoother kick.

• Mutu

Posted June 13, 2010 - 04:39 PM

put the piston the TDC and kick through it mate.
Don't touch the throttle other wise it'll be a bitch and won't play nice.

• MADMANX666

Posted June 14, 2010 - 11:21 AM

thanks all...ill let you no how i get on....aas for the starter ive had to go genuine £220 = vat.....ouch

• Mrmonk7663

Posted June 17, 2010 - 07:36 PM