2002 Wr426 help

2 replies to this topic
  • Wisch

Posted June 09, 2010 - 01:39 PM

I own a 2002 Yamaha Wr426 and it's broken, I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction of troubleshooting the problem. I have a little knowledge but not much about 4 stroke engines. I want to learn more about 4 strokes and how to work on them and I feel like this bike would be great for that "because it is already toasted!"

When she Broke - It was about 3 weeks after the second adjustment. I rode maybe 4 to 5 times after the adjustment and everything seemed fine. So after about 20 minutes of warm up riding, my friend and I started riding harder n harder(keep in mind this is in about a foot of slushy snow). As I clicked into 3rd gear I heard a clicking sound. Not loud click but a faint clicking sound and the bike cut out. I thought that my tire was just slipping through the snow and I wasn't sure about the sound so I let the bike sit for a second. Tried kicking it over a few times and there was compression. So I kicked for maybe 5 minutes and it started. I started riding down a little hill and it seemed fine until I started riding a little faster and faster and then clicks got louder and the bike cut out again. No bang, no boom, just about 4 to 6 clicks and the bike was done. So I sat for while and tried to see if the bike would even kick over. Nope, The kick start was stuck. So I took the bike home and let it cool off for a night and went out the next day and the kick starter pushed through just fine. But still no start.
This was about a year ago and now that I am finally making money and can't stand not riding anymore I want to fix it up a little bit and sell it to get a newer bike.