YZ250 Mix Ratios Question

35 replies to this topic
  • LemonDrizzle

Posted June 06, 2010 - 07:59 PM

Before I get too far and in order to ward off the flaming, I'm pretty new to 2 strokes. That being said, I'm trying to understand why the popular oil/fuel ratio seems to be around 40:1 when Yamaha calls for 30:1 or 32:1 depending on what year you have. I didn't bother to ask the guy I bought my '00 YZ250 from what he was running because I knew the first thing I was buying was a service manual so at the time it didn't matter to me, but after trolling TT it seems that most people like 40:1 rather then the stock mix ratio. Is this just mainly to get that little bit of extra zip out of the bike, and if so, won't the lack of oil harm the engine? I realize that we are only talking about a minimal amount of oil but, nevertheless, I gotta know whyyyyyyyyyyy!:thumbsup:

• 7thirtyseven

Posted June 06, 2010 - 08:44 PM

Two trains of thought here on that one, 1. Mix at yamahas recommendation 2. Mix at oil manufacturers recommendation ( which can be as high as 100:1). For what it's worth I've mixed 50:1 with my oil of choice and have yet to have an issue, and yes 50:1 was an "arbitrary" choice on my part. In short for us hacks it's not that much of an issue, or atleast far less of an issue than making sure your not sucking unwanted junk into that cylinder.., If it makes you feel better I've run my bike at 50:1 for five yrs religiously measuring high quality oil, my riding buddy far more mechanically attuned fills his tank with premium, pours chainsaw mixoil by guestimate, shakes his bike to mix, and rides.

• chadzu

Posted June 07, 2010 - 03:39 AM

Why? My best guess is that after paying $10 for 12.8 oz. of oil 50-1 is all they can afford.
I pay $11 for a gallon of oil and happilly mix at 30-1.
This debate is as old as time, and it still hasn't been settled. Which leads me to believe that it doesn't really matter. Be consistant with what works for you and jet accordingly.