Tool suggestion

6 replies to this topic
  • Powderhound

Posted April 09, 2010 - 05:02 AM

I'm just getting back on a 4 stroke after having ridden ktm 300s for the past few years. I forgot how much more effort is required to access various components of the 4 stroke carb compared to a 2 stroke. I was able to change pilot jets, mains, and even pull the float bowl without twisting the carb on my 09 450 using regular tools but it was kind of a pain. I got to thinking about the tools I have at work (I'm a Mercedes master tech) and remembered my favorite tool for doing interior work. The skew driver.
http://www.spectools.com/spec.htm
You can buy the same sort of tool at Lowes. The one at Lowes is made by Milwaukee tools and does not come with a handle, but a 1/4 inch bit driver works just fine for a handle. I brought home various bits and found pulling the float bowl takes but a minute. I ground down a flat blade bit and use it for pulling pilot jets, attach a socket and the main comes right out.
The way I use it for work is attached to a cordless drill (these things don't like cordless impact drivers) but that seems a bit much for working on the bike.
Now you're going to have to get used to how tight everything gets with this and double check your work for a while to make sure you are getting the proper torque on the fasteners. Once you get a proper feel for it I think this tool could save you quite a bit of time and frustration. Oh and it works fantastic on vehicle interiors too!

• tech24

Posted April 09, 2010 - 05:08 AM

Thats a handy device, I have something similar but a little wimpy comared to those things.

Maybe you could help a guy out? I'm working on a '98 slk230 with P0301 and P0304. No miss right now of course, do coils fail on these things? Guess I could always swap it with cyl 2 but I'd prefer to fix it and make some $$$

• Powderhound

Posted April 09, 2010 - 05:19 AM

PM sent