what is a good bike to start off with

14 replies to this topic
  • xkillerzx

Posted April 06, 2010 - 11:25 AM

im new to the pit bike scene and dont really no a good pit bike from a bad one. what would you recommend as a good reliable bike thats not to expensive.

• bgjames111

Posted April 06, 2010 - 12:28 PM

I was in the same boat as you. I did a lot of looking at websites, reading forums, and asked a few questions. I ended up deciding on an SSR 140tx. I'm waiting for it to show up, (should be later this week).

I guess you'll need to ask what you want to do with the bike. Race? play? trails? I wanted a play bike that would still be fun on a small back yard track.

• xkillerzx

Posted April 06, 2010 - 12:36 PM

right now im just looking for something to play around on. im been looking at a lot of different websites and have narrowed down my search to either a SSR 125A1 or an Orion OPBS XG but it seems like SSR is a bigger name which makes me think that they are better.

• scooterpimp

Posted April 06, 2010 - 03:10 PM

right now im just looking for something to play around on. im been looking at a lot of different websites and have narrowed down my search to either a SSR 125A1 or an Orion OPBS XG but it seems like SSR is a bigger name which makes me think that they are better.

Not To Sway You , But I Have Good Luck With The SSr 125 14/12 1 Has Over 200 Hours On It & Only Reg. Servicing Was Done. I Dont Jump Snake River Or Antything Too Extreme On Them , But Im 41 ,250lbs & 5-11 & They Held Up Under My Fat Carcass So Far...Hope This Helps Any?

• xkillerzx

Posted April 06, 2010 - 04:47 PM

thanks scooterpimp that does help me because it seems that more people would go with a SSR and you said you have never had any trouble with it which leads me to believe that its a good bike

• staggsracing

Posted April 06, 2010 - 05:05 PM

The SSR a1 would be a good choice and they have thousands of parts in stock. Let me know if we can help.

• Steel Panther