WR400 "Basket Case" build

22 replies to this topic
  • schony

Posted March 29, 2010 - 05:38 PM

Well this is my first time digging into a bike to this extent (or even close for that matter). I am a auto tech, and this I must say is a fun change. So here is what I have going on, bought a 98 wr400 for $200 cylinder head and cams all marred up from lack of maintenance. Here is what I've gotten for it

426 jug
426 Rod
13.5:1 piston
Hot cams
good used head
used MSR stator cover (mine was dented and cracked inside...CHEEP)
Engine Armor Clutch cover to go with the MSR (again cheep)
EVERY I mean EVERY Gasket/Seal/Crush washer
Watter Pump Shaft, seals, bearing

It came with

White brothers exhaust
Demon (er something) Rad guards
Pro taper (or similar) Handlebars
and a couple other guards and knick nacks

This thing was a "basket case" the cyl head and jug and other stuff was in a box when I got it. My buddy and I pulled the engine as soon as we got it home. Split the case yesterday used a universal steering wheel puller with some all-thread and pulled the crank. Cleaned the frame with degreaser then brought to the car wash and washed the hell out of it. Well here is where I am at now...

OH, any suggestions for installing the crank? I don't have the special tool...

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Cleaning the hell out of the engine for the next couple day's. Going to get new plastics to.

• 123BigcoopDawg576

Posted March 29, 2010 - 06:31 PM

You're on the right track and you are doing it right :thumbsup:

Keep the photo's coming :lol: :)

• schony

Posted March 29, 2010 - 08:13 PM