08' 450f bogg problem

9 replies to this topic
  • awthacker

Posted March 20, 2010 - 02:29 PM

Ok, here's the deal. I've been working on my buddies bike and I went to put some gas in it and it leaked all over the floor. So I went and adjusted the float bowl a bit so it wouldn't leak. Then I went ahead and stared kicking it over a few times and finally after about 2 min it started but sounded horrible. I had to keep giving it gas and it wouldn't idle and it sounds like a valve might have been stuck. So I took the valve cover off and cranked it over a few times to make sure, and it seemed like they were fine. especially since it's on 08. So my guess now is that it's that something is wrong in the throttle body or the choke is stuck but it didn't seem like it to me. Has anyone else had this problem with the 08's. It sounded pretty bad and not like a throttle body problem, but I might be wrong.

• BubZ

Posted March 20, 2010 - 03:09 PM

I'm no expert like some here, but I wouldn't think a valve because that would either bend the valve from piston contact or screw the cam from the valve not moving. I also think a valve wouldn't cause gas to flow from the carb. So, it seems that the problem is still carb related.

I hope someone else will come in with some insight but I'm thinking the carb has a stuck float or perhaps the pilot jet has come loose.

BubZ

• tek_01

Posted March 20, 2010 - 10:35 PM

You adjusted the float bowl? what did you actually do, adjust the float height? if so did you just have a guess or followed the spec in the manual?

You could have adjusted it too low...just a guess anyhow

• awthacker

Posted March 20, 2010 - 11:29 PM

I'll take a look at it tomorrow, i guessed a bit , but I might have bent it too far down:bonk: I hope that fixes it.

• grayracer513

Posted March 21, 2010 - 09:02 AM