04 YZ450 needs more hit!

11 replies to this topic
  • jbodin18

Posted March 12, 2010 - 08:10 PM

I'm a newbie to forum but intermediate rider both mx and trails. My bike is super smooth on the throttle, at this point its too smooth. I'm looking to get more pop out of the bike. I rode my buddies 06 KX450 and all the front wheel wanted to do was come off the ground! I loved it! I'm 6'4" 210 and can handle the power. Maybe my bike is exhausted?

So I'm on a budget, and won't be able to go crazy on the bike right away, but over next couple months I wouldn't mind sinking some money into it, if it will increase performance.

Getting ready to get new clutch setup since mine is trashed (5 yrs on OEM clutch not bad). Jetting seems perfect and valves are in tolerance. No aftermarket performance parts on the bike.

My question is: what is list, in order of most significant benefit, you all would consider for upgrading?

• FinchFan194

Posted March 12, 2010 - 08:37 PM

I loved the engine on my 04 that thing hit hard if yours is lacking somewhere it probably is getting tired. I suggest looking into having a leak down test done on it to see where its at. If that comes back fine then maybe someone geared it really high to lessen the hit. I ran 14/47 on my 04 and I loved that gearing combo on that bike. I honestly am less than in love with my new 08's motor and gearing even though I have tried a bunch of different combos on it. Good luck.

• BBrown626

Posted March 12, 2010 - 08:56 PM

I recently unloaded an '04. The problem with that bike is that it has very quick throttle response and acceleration. It loves to wheelie and spin. Keys to delivering very good response with the motor:
- fresh top end for sure if you are more than a hundred hours.
- proper jetting and fuel screw setting.
- put in a 40 leak jet (check the size)
- check your AP squirt and wire the AP arm or install the o-ring mod.