Oil Spilling Out

10 replies to this topic
  • DirtNasty

Posted March 10, 2010 - 09:43 AM

take my '03 450 for a ride around the neighborhood this morning...about 50 degrees out. when i get back i let it sit for about 20 minutes then check my fluids, radiator is full but then i go to check the oil level and as soon as the dipstick is out oil starts spilling everywhere pouring out of that hole on the top front of the frame. just because the bike was still warm? or otherwise...im kinda new to 4 strokes any help would be greatly aprreciated. :banana:

• grayracer513

Posted March 10, 2010 - 09:57 AM

You overfilled it. Have you done an oil change lately? Maybe you checked the oil before you rode it and added some without running the engine first. the YZF models use a dry sump oiling system, and are a bit different than what you may be used to. Read these two posts:

http://www.thumperta...903#post5221903

http://www.thumperta...660#post8765660

• DirtNasty

Posted March 10, 2010 - 10:08 AM

i havent done an oil change recently...ive only had the bike for about a week. maybe the previous owner had overfilled it. i was just worried that maybe fuel or coolant had gotten into the oil somehow and caused it to be that high. but if it was that overfilled then it would be good that i bled off some of the excess right? quite a bit came out before i could stop it. thanks for showing me those post...and the manual from my other post. hopefully one day ill be able to understand these things.

• grayracer513

Posted March 10, 2010 - 10:17 AM

If I were you (or anyone else), I would change the oil on any 'new' bike I bought before I ever rode it. That way, you eliminate a certain number of doubts about the situation. It also gives you a look into the overall condition.

I'd suggest you do that now.

• whyfly

Posted March 10, 2010 - 10:22 AM