09 yz450 question

10 replies to this topic
  • WR-man

Posted March 07, 2010 - 08:45 PM

hi im new to this form and would like to say hi
I just bought a new yz450 2009 and i haven't broke it in yet. i started it up and it was back firing when i let off the throttle at 1/4 of a throttle
my question is? is that common or is there something wrong . thanks

• locomike

Posted March 08, 2010 - 03:07 AM

The pilot jet is probably a little lean, since the weather is a little cooler now than the conditions it is jetted for. Try a larger pilot jet.

• dvn

Posted March 08, 2010 - 03:56 AM

The pilot jet is probably a little lean, since the weather is a little cooler now than the conditions it is jetted for. Try a larger pilot jet.

This is most likely true. You can try adjusting the fuel screw first but don't make any adjustments until the bike is fully warmed up.

• davbrucas

Posted March 09, 2010 - 05:36 AM

Yep...turn the fuel screw all the way in counting the number of full turns...then turn it back out past where it was but no further than 3 full turns to try to make the backfiring go away...if it still does it after this adjustment, then go to a one size bigger pilot jet. I am near sea-level and didnt need a larger pilot jet...just some fuel screw adjustments. You should buy an aftermarket fuel screw to make the adjustments easier.

• grayracer513

Posted March 09, 2010 - 08:13 AM

Be sure that you check for exhaust leaks at both ends of the header before playing with the screw. If the backfire is caused by a leak, you'll end up with a bike that idles poorly, fouls plugs, starts hard, and dies when the throttle is chopped. Just sayin'.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • anthony72

Posted March 10, 2010 - 12:47 PM