My first 450, need advice.

5 replies to this topic
  • pacopose

Posted March 06, 2010 - 04:53 PM

Hi everyone.
Im new to thumpertalk, and just got me a 2005 Yz450f, Bought it for a good price from a friend, and today I got to ride it for good in the trails.
Im from Mexico, and I drove dirtbikes when I was a kid, and havent ride in 10 years, so im a little rusty.... or a lot.
The bike is great, lots of power, actually very few times i passed from 1/2 throttle in the 6 hours we rode.
But I encounter a few things that I would like to improve. the first one is the one that bothered me the most today, the bike kept stalling in first, and at the first 1/4 of the throttle, specially going uphill, this was very annoying, for me and my friends that had to wait for me until I could restart the engine again, that also took me quite a bit, and wear me out. any thoughts on this?
Also had some trouble with the clutch, its to hard, so my armpit is all cramped right now. By the way the clutch cable doesnt seems oem, maybe is this.
Also the bike kept overheating when it was still, and throwing coolant on the overfill hose, don't know if while riding also.

well, thats not it, but its my birthday and Im going out with my fiends.

Thanks and would appreciate any comments.:thumbsup:

• mxdirtking

Posted March 06, 2010 - 04:56 PM

If you put some oil down in your clutch cable it might loosen it up.

• OR503-2strkrider

Posted March 06, 2010 - 05:06 PM

Because its a 450 the gears may be to wide(possibly taller gears) and probably going to slow I ride a 250 2stroke but Iv begun to notice that newer 4 stroke are starting to have alot more top end then they have in the past and you have to keep it in the higher rpms or else it wi stall just how you descibed.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • tek_01

Posted March 06, 2010 - 06:07 PM