Been 20 yrs since I rode

5 replies to this topic
  • Ryan426

Posted February 02, 2010 - 07:35 PM

I started riding when I was 4. Raced when I was a kid and when I was 13 we moved to the city. Thats when my riding came to an end sort of. I sold my cr80 and bought a bike (pedal power). Off and on I rode for a few yrs. Came up on a 1979 CR250 in '92. That was my last bike till 2006. In '06 I wanted an enduro like an xr650 or something. But my dumb ass bought a Honda Chinese knock 150cc piece of crap! I mainly rode it on the st. because it had no power for dirt. Could not even hold a wheelie. Rode it for 7 months and sold it. Last month I bought a 2001 YZ426F. I never owned a watercooled bike before. I always thought 4 strokes sucked. But man, this bike is sick!!! I'm 5'7 and I'm thinking I should have got like a 250. But after 3 rides on this beast i'm so falling in love with her. Shhhh, don't tell the wife. lol. If any body can offer me tips I would be thankful. :ride:

• BBrown626

Posted February 02, 2010 - 08:11 PM

What sort of riding do you think you will be doing? How much do you weigh?
Plenty of bigger guys ride 250F's. I rode my son's 250F quite a bit when sprung properly. They are real fun and having a little less power can help keep you out of trouble. They are easier to ride in most circumstances.

• Ryan426

Posted February 03, 2010 - 04:52 AM

I wiegh in about 195-200 lbs. Mostly desert riding. I live on the river here in AZ. Mostly trails i'll be riding on. Once I get comfotable, then I'll be hitting jumbs and such. Wish I knew before hand that the YZ 426's were a bitch to start. I got it down to about 5-6 kicks. 1st time out took me 2 hours to fire her up.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Lota Fun R

Posted February 03, 2010 - 05:08 AM