mods/replacement parts???

7 replies to this topic
  • dirtdad

Posted October 31, 2000 - 07:57 AM

I'm looking for suggestions on replacement parts for the 426. Any opinions on chains/sprockets, pipes/silencer/spark arrestors (I'm leaning toward FMF Power Bomb/
power core IV2 S/A). I'm not a pro-level rider and want to smooth out the bottom and middle as well as ride part of the time in the woods where I need the S/A. As far as the chain goes, I understand the stock item is suspect and will use it til it starts to stretch which I understand will be quick. I'm looking for replacements that I won't have to change out every six months of steady riding. Sidewinder SS Sprocket? Has
anyone done any mods to the airbox (ie: filtered air box vents) or is this a bad idea on this bike? Lastly, anyone familiar with/used Amp Traction Blocks?

• Hick

Posted October 31, 2000 - 09:53 AM

This is subjective stuff here so remember this is only my opinion…

I have a PC T4 and I like it, it is well made, fits nicely, installed easily and perked up the midrange pretty good while smoothing things out at the same time plus it comes with a USFS approved S/A insert. But if I had it to do over again I’d probably opt for a White Brother’s, their stuff seemed to make the best dyno numbers in the magazine tests I’ve seen. Of the more popular systems White Bro.s is the more four-stroke oriented company (I suppose Yosh qualifies as well). But they are all too darn expensive. Maybe you should get the S/A insert and save your money for a Scott’s damper. IMO that would be money better spent, plus with a new mounting kit you can swap the damper to any other bike.