Thinkin about tackling my fork

9 replies to this topic
  • jagarcia89

Posted January 10, 2010 - 10:28 PM

After watchin my seals leak oil for the past 2 rides I'm gonna give it new oil and seals. I am a certified bicycle mechanic and have done many high end mountain bike forks but have never done one on a moto. My questions are

what are the similarities and differences in the two?

What parts and seals should I replace while in there? Any other tips or suggestions?

• grayracer513

Posted January 10, 2010 - 11:20 PM

Any other tips or suggestions?

Yes.

You can start by telling us what kind of bike we're working on.

• CaptainKnobby

Posted January 11, 2010 - 06:41 AM

hopefully it will be a Yamaha :moon:

• jagarcia89

Posted January 11, 2010 - 09:41 AM

Oh sorry 98 yz400f

• grayracer513

Posted January 11, 2010 - 09:55 AM

Those are the open bath, or single chamber KYB fork used on all '03 and earlier models. They're pretty simple. The manual goes start to finish through a full tear down, but there generally is no need to remove the base valve or damper cartridges.

Just remove the springs, remove the seal retainer snap rings, and pull the upper tube off the lower by snapping them to full extension sharply, as with a slide hammer.

With such an old bike, you will probably want to replace the bushings (the manual calls them "metals". Don't know why). These just snap in and out of place.

Look for scratches and dings in the inner tube. If found, sand them out with 240 or 320 wet/dry. Invest in a real seal driver ($35-60).

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • buzzfin

Posted January 11, 2010 - 06:39 PM

Watch this video, it will take you through it step by step:

• matt4x4

Posted January 12, 2010 - 08:48 AM