1999 yz 400

3 replies to this topic
  • B16JAB YZ400

Posted December 29, 2009 - 12:31 PM

Hello, This is my first post on here and by the seams of things this Forum has some very knowledgeable users!
I am new to the whole Off Road World, having only had experience of road bikes having owned a couple of GSXR 600s prior to just purchasing a 1999 YZ400.

I am interested to know what to expect from this bike? As initially im a little disappointed with the power?? After reading lots of used yz400 adverts and looking at several bikes in the flesh and talking to owners, I’ve found it quite common that people are selling due to the bikes being “An Animal” or has “Too much Power” or “Cant Keep The front Wheel Down” even in 3rd gear?

Having been out on my new bike several times on the road due to it being road registered it just doesn’t seem to do what I expected? 1st & 2nd are over quite quickly 3rd & 4th pull well. I appreciate that the power delivery is going to be completely different to what ive been used to with a GSXR 600. I haven’t been able to get the front wheel up yet by just using the gas. Im 13stone and from what other people have told me this should be possible??? Is it the way I am riding it or do I need to tune the bike slightly?? Carb etc…. as maybe its bogging before it gets to the power?? The bike is standard YZ spec im unsure about jets and mixture settings. Ive also read that the valve clearances have to be spot on, if they are not could these symptoms be connected??

Im unsure what to do as from experience too much tinkering can sometimes cause more problems or make things worse.
What are the best things to do initially?

Cheers James

• WR 400F

Posted January 17, 2010 - 10:17 AM

I have 2000 wr 400 with hot cams I would clean carb new plug and clean the air filter I just pulled my carb out and main jet was partially clogged what a difference

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed