I'm in love with another lady...

9 replies to this topic
  • Bryan

Posted April 02, 2001 - 11:48 AM

Oh come on now you guys! I don't mean another WOMEN! Maybe I need to make myself more clear (I knew I'd get you with that title).

I had the opportunity to ride Ron's new Yamaha WR250F this weekend. It wasn't love at first sight. When I got out of the parking lot at PMI in Pueblo and twisted the throttle, I certainly didn't feel any power compared to my 1999 WR400 with YZ timing. I thought to myself, 'Self, how can anyone ride a bike without any power?'.
I then got to a twisty sandy trail and stopped. I thought, 'Self, you know this bike is supposed to rev to the moon, so let's see what she'll do'.
The thing about the WR250F is that you have to ride it like a two stroke. When my WR400 stops getting with it and it's time to shift, that's when the WR250F is in the money baby!
I started riding the bike one gear lower than I would with my WR400. I shifted from 3rd to 2nd gear and hit the gas. That little engine can flat out get with it! The front tire started lifting off the ground in 2nd gear and I'll bet it can damn well about do it in 3rd gear.
And the handling, oh the handling. And weight (or lack of). This is a bike that wants to dive into a corner, lay down, grab all the gas and clutch, and flat out get with it. I could toss it around like it was a mountain bike.
AWESOME BABY!
Now I want one.
Sure it doesn't have the raw flat out, head snapping power of the WR400 or WR426. But now I can't see racing my WR400 in any enduros after riding this WR250.
However, I think my 400 will still be more fun in Moab type terrain.
I feel like I've cheated on my WR400. Now it feels fast, but heavy and slow handling.
Maybe I need both? Too bad I can't get one this year eh?
Bryan...

[This message has been edited by Bryan (edited 04-02-2001).]

• Bill

Posted April 02, 2001 - 12:50 PM

COOL!