me too short,xr too high

11 replies to this topic
  • uw153

Posted April 28, 2003 - 03:26 AM

I am a little new to the whole off-road riding thing. I have own many a streetbike and sportbike but this year I thought I'd try the off-road thing. I did my first real tight trail on the ole XR yesterday "BTW '01 650L" and man I have sore muscles and bruises where I didn't think I even made contact. Now for the actually reason I am posting. I realized after picking the bike up approximately 10 times yesterday I at 5'9" am a little short for the 37" seat height of the XR. I have done a little checking into the lowering links has anyone tried different ones? Any comments on who make the most robust design for the best price?

• derevus

Posted April 28, 2003 - 12:26 PM

check out 4strokes.com
Lloyd

• 2wheels

Posted April 28, 2003 - 02:46 PM

Jeez UW your scaring me. I'm sick of the whole urban/suburban megalopolis thing and i was thinking about a 650r for northern california trails. A little lighter than the l model but holy thrown out back batman i dont want to be picking up 300 lbs of machine after all those drops. Had visions of racing through the baja desert at 120+ on the trusty 650r and then reality struck. I will not be racing anything anywhere. I will be concentrating soley on staying upright. So I have been steered toward a DRZe or a XR400(drz is no featherweight either) as a more sensible choice for an aspiring trail/technical terrain rider. So my question to any of you is can the BRP do tight stuff ok? :D :)

• JR650

Posted April 28, 2003 - 03:28 PM