yz450f help????

37 replies to this topic
  • tech24

Posted November 18, 2009 - 08:15 AM

Hello, Im new here, have been reading some posts for a bit and figured I'd join. I own an '05 raptor660 and an '04 yz450f. I need to pick your brains for a bit.

My yz sat for a few months and I went to ride it it was hard to start and once started it did idle with minimal sputter. As soon as throttle is opened in any positon it sputters, cracks, pops, and backfires.

I have torn down the carb and cleaned a ton of dirt out of it, re-installed it and still have same condition.

Jetting is dynojet for stock bike and was running perfect before. Fuel is fresh cam2 purple and has fresh sparky.

I have a service manual on the way and I am an auto mechanic so I hope to be able to fix it but some of you may be able to save me some time and frustration.

Sorry for the long post and thanks for any info!

forgot to add: Checked valve clearance: perfect, performed cylinder leakage test has 5% leakage, checked cam timing: perfect

• l_campionero

Posted November 18, 2009 - 08:29 AM

The carb is still dirty. It needs TOTAL disassembly and cleaning with the PROPER solution, not automotive carb cleaner (which can damage rubber components....seriously!). Check with your local Yamaha dealer for the carb cleaning solution, which (believe it or not) you dilute with water OR gasoline!
I just left the carb and had them do it. End of problem.
Good luck!

• Riding3

Posted November 18, 2009 - 08:37 AM

I agree, the jets must still have debris in them.

• tech24

Posted November 18, 2009 - 08:40 AM

Im kinda leaning that way myself I have a carb acid tank but didn't use it cause I didn't want to remove tps until I knew how to adjust it. Thinking about a full overhaul but the damn fcr kits are spensive.

• l_campionero

Posted November 18, 2009 - 08:47 AM

You don't need a kit. You just need to get the passages clean. All you will need is perhaps some new stock or similar jets.
Good luck!:excuseme: