My 450 is not firing.. any ideas?

12 replies to this topic
  • k2pow

Posted November 17, 2009 - 06:26 PM

So I am getting spark through a brand new plug, it's wet with gas, ign on, choke out gas turned on. Battery fully charged and it's not even cracking? I am new to the bike thing and using my race car basics to diagnose but having issues. Any clues?

Kenneth
Van Nuys Ca
k2pow@yahoo.com

• WR_Dave

Posted November 18, 2009 - 02:31 AM

Are you following the proper start procedure, are your valves set correctly, is the bike new to you, how is the jetting, is your air filter totally plugged, did you forget a rag in the intake, did you just do some work on the bike, was it running well then this suddenly popped up? If the bike is new to you "do not" touch the throttle when starting as when these engines flood I hear they can be a real pain to start, mine works great every time. Anything else I may have missed at this early hour fellow TT'rs? -- WR Dave

• phynx

Posted November 18, 2009 - 12:22 PM

Are you following the proper start procedure, are your valves set correctly, is the bike new to you, how is the jetting, is your air filter totally plugged, did you forget a rag in the intake, did you just do some work on the bike, was it running well then this suddenly popped up? If the bike is new to you "do not" touch the throttle when starting as when these engines flood I hear they can be a real pain to start, mine works great every time. Anything else I may have missed at this early hour fellow TT'rs? -- WR Dave

After that, check to see if there is spark in that coil. That takes a minute..

• WR_Dave

Posted November 18, 2009 - 03:39 PM

So I am getting spark through a brand new plug,

Unless I didn't understand , I thought he already covered that point. :excuseme: WR Dave

• yz-dwg

Posted November 18, 2009 - 04:08 PM

have you tried to kick start it?

• k2pow

Posted November 19, 2009 - 09:43 AM