yz450f wont idle when warm

9 replies to this topic
  • findley

Posted October 19, 2009 - 05:28 PM

Hey guys first post and I am new to dirtbikes as well. I did make an effort to search my issue but I found nothing that related. If I missed the post for this I would be grateful if you could send me the right direction. My problem is this I bought an 06 yz 450 that was a racing bike but had all stock parts back on it. Right away i discovered when it got warmed up it wouldnt idle and the warmer it gets the higher i have to keep the idle, on one occasion it was 1/2 throttle. so far I have put in a new sparkplug, cleaned the carb multiple times, checked the valves, new fuel. It will idle with the choke on. I am almost convinced it is an electrical issue, any thoughts?

• l_campionero

Posted October 19, 2009 - 05:31 PM

Have the carb cleaned out by a reputable dealer. I have had issues with both a WR250F, and a YZ250F, and professional cleaning solved the problems.

• 426 NOOB

Posted October 19, 2009 - 06:15 PM

Hey guys first post and I am new to dirtbikes as well. I did make an effort to search my issue but I found nothing that related. If I missed the post for this I would be grateful if you could send me the right direction. My problem is this I bought an 06 yz 450 that was a racing bike but had all stock parts back on it. Right away i discovered when it got warmed up it wouldnt idle and the warmer it gets the higher i have to keep the idle, on one occasion it was 1/2 throttle. so far I have put in a new sparkplug, cleaned the carb multiple times, checked the valves, new fuel. It will idle with the choke on. I am almost convinced it is an electrical issue, any thoughts?

to me it still sounds like a carb issue. Either the pilot is plugged or it is the wrong size. When you say it was put back to stock, what sort of performance parts were on it?

• 426 NOOB

Posted October 19, 2009 - 06:20 PM