WR450 Life period and reliability as a DualSport?

3 replies to this topic
  • Zerbabilon

Posted April 15, 2003 - 11:56 AM

What kind of mileage can a WR450 handle on the road?

I'm a broke college student and my Jeep breaks every other week. I need $4,000 to fix it so that means I wont be able to get the jetski back in the water. I'm thinking about selling the Jeep and buying a new WR450 for my primary vehicle. Also buy a beater to tow the jetski and use in bad weather.

So can a WR450 handle being a commuter? 350 road miles a week, + abuse off-road and still keep on thumping?

I need cheap and reliable transportation and still be able to tow my ski. I think a bike is the funnest way to accomplish that. I love wheeling and going out in the woods and I don't want to give that up but would a Streetbike like a YZF R6 be more suitable or do you think a WR450 is up to the task?

• Zerbabilon

Posted April 15, 2003 - 01:52 PM

Anyone have high mileage on a WR or know its lifespan?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ddialogue

Posted April 15, 2003 - 02:34 PM

I think Indy_WR450 has the most mileage of anyone so far. The last I heard he'd logged somewhere around 800+ miles. If these new 450's are anywhere near as reliable as the old 400's and 426's are, then you'll be able to log thousands of miles.

• Indy_WR450

Posted April 15, 2003 - 06:01 PM