06 yz450f advice

19 replies to this topic
  • yz250fnewbie

Posted September 30, 2009 - 05:41 AM

i've been riding an 03 yz250f for 3 years now. it was my first bike. my son has outgrown his rm85 and will be moving up to my yz so... dad is looking for a new (to me) bike. i'm looking at an 06 yz450f. is there anything in particular i should pay attention to? thanks in advance for helping. the wife says this may be the last bike i get to buy so i've gotta make it good...

• saccityfire

Posted September 30, 2009 - 08:47 AM

06' is really nice and fast if properly set up. 09' is a little better in the handling and much worse in the low end power in stock form. I loved my 06' and would still be on it today if it hadn't been for a long recovery from a blown disc.

I would get the 06' and when it comes time to hand it over to your son get yourself whatever has come along and bettered it. Trade in the wife if necessary.

Get it checked out for like $100 at a reputable shop prior to purchase even if it looks clean. abused bikes can be cleaned and plastics removed at purchase and replaced for sale. Shop can check motor condition. How much wear damage is present on the engine case covers? Does the suspension work smoothly? Bent or damaged shock tubes or sliders? Any oil seepage from seals, engine? What does inside of air cleaner box look like? Look at rear tire and fender from rear of bike does rear tire and center of fender align? What do the brake discs look like? Any large gouges on the frame? How does it run at idle and different throttle openings? It should backfire (pop) slightly when throttle is cracked open and closed quickly!! Rims true laterally and as a circle? Stock tires or after market? condition of chain wear blocks and areas where chain may have contacted? Is the chain stock? Did owner ever grease the suspension linkage or steering bearings? Does clutch pull easily and throttle operate smoothly?