Just bought a 07 WR 450

13 replies to this topic
  • yamazuki10

Posted September 28, 2009 - 05:14 AM

So I finally got the bike I have been feening for for the past 3 years. After 3 DRZs,a KTM, and a WR 400, I finally have it. What now? It is already very hooked up, FMF Ti, AIS been removed, gray wire done, YZ throttle stop done, and armored up for the single track. My question is, what's up with the 2 oil dip sticks? One kinda on the side where a lot of dip sticks are and then there's one on the front of the motor kinda by the header? I plan on running Yamalube 10W-40, any other reccomendations? Any other quirks/issues with this bike? I read the FAQ and I had a WR 400, I loved that bike but was a PITA to start, and now I have the magic button with more power.:busted:

• OUTERLIMITS

Posted September 28, 2009 - 06:00 AM

Just one dipstick. The one on the side is where you fill only.

Very few quirks with this bike. Sounds like you may have it jetted correctly in which case you are way ahead of the curve and the bike will start pretty easily. Oil is kind of a personal thing and dependent on temperature etc. I run 20w-50 of various brands. As to armor, the main thing on this bike being radiator protection. If you have that covered great, if not, there are some good brands out there. I have Unibikers and they have saved the same radiator twice where just the screen in front got a little warped (due to the bike landing on a rock right where the shroud mounts to the guard, but the cage around the radiator stayed perfectly straight.

• yamazuki10

Posted September 28, 2009 - 06:27 AM

Thanks for your input. But why do both have dipsticks? Do I check the more forward one and just fill the one on the side? What's the capacity, about 2 qts?

• Wrfrk

Posted September 28, 2009 - 06:43 AM

Thanks for your input. But why do both have dipsticks? Do I check the more forward one and just fill the one on the side? What's the capacity, about 2 qts?