Hand guards/Chain

11 replies to this topic
  • Tim

Posted April 12, 2000 - 08:58 AM

Hi Guys,
Picking up my bike in 2 days!! I just want to start out on the right foot. I have been riding for almost 25 years and this will be my first brand new Dirt bike, I have fixed alot of "previous owner's mistakes" and do not want to create any of my own...... Thanks to you guys, I already plan on picking up a new chain along with my bike, any suggestions? And the other question I have is on Hand Guards....... There are so many types. I plan on switching to Pro-tapers after the stock ones go to crap. I have been teeder-toddering from plastic, to aluminum. I currently run a set of UFO plastic guards on my CR500, but can not find them anywhere. My feelings on aluminum are that they might get bent up, while plastic will probably flex. I guess I would need to find a set that the manufacture also sells an adaptet kit for Pro-tapers. Any adivse will be very appreciated. Thanks.

• jlm400

Posted April 12, 2000 - 01:42 PM

Sounds like you have most everything figured out except for the handgaurds. I have personally never seen a pair of alumminum handgaurds bend much less break. I usually just buy the cheapest pair out there. They are all made out of the same bar stock aluminum. I have had the plastic wrap around kind made by acerbis break on me before and will not buy them again. Hit a solid tree head on with them doing about 30 mph and you might experiance what I did. It's not fun!! I do really like the extra wide protection of the acerbis gaurds though. So what I do is buy the Maier plastic bolt on shields for the Maier aluminum handgaurds. Similar to what scott summers uses. Extra wide protection from dirt and flying rocks and the toughness of the aluminum bars all in one shot.

• wilson

Posted April 12, 2000 - 02:12 PM

Tim, I have some parts you might be interested in.