Which Dual Sport?

11 replies to this topic
  • bboxall

Posted September 18, 2009 - 02:50 PM

Background:
I'm 6' 1" 210 lbs., 47 years old. I've been riding since around 1970. I've had 2 stroke Husqvarnas, Suzuki DRZ-400E & 400S, Suzuki Hayabusa and 1200 Bandit.

Here are the bikes I'm considering:
1) KTM 530EXC - it has everything I want but I was hoping for EFI, light weight.
+very little to buy for it except a larger gas tank, rejet, and heavier springs
-worried about reliability and frequent maintenance requirements, very small oil capacity, parts availability
2) Husqvarna TE 510 - it has everything I want including EFI, don't know what it weighs, can't get response from Husqvarna to send or download specs.
+would need heavier springs, larger tank (issue with EFI on aftermarket tank?)
-worried about reliability and durability, parts availability
3) Suzuki DRZ-400S - alot cheaper but heavy, no inverted fork, dated design, carb.
+parts very available, lots of aftermarket stuff
(Rumor of RMX-450... but may not be street legal)
4) Yamaha WR250R - seems too small and buzzy - if they would just dual sport the WR450 with EFI ---- SOLD!

Any others I should look at?
Any suggestions?

Thanks!

• shrubitup

Posted September 19, 2009 - 10:01 AM

Background:
I'm 6' 1" 210 lbs., 47 years old. I've been riding since around 1970. I've had 2 stroke Husqvarnas, Suzuki DRZ-400E & 400S, Suzuki Hayabusa and 1200 Bandit.

Here are the bikes I'm considering:
1) KTM 530EXC - it has everything I want but I was hoping for EFI, light weight.
+very little to buy for it except a larger gas tank, rejet, and heavier springs
-worried about reliability and frequent maintenance requirements, very small oil capacity, parts availability
2) Husqvarna TE 510 - it has everything I want including EFI, don't know what it weighs, can't get response from Husqvarna to send or download specs.
+would need heavier springs, larger tank (issue with EFI on aftermarket tank?)